Sports & Entertainment

Caravans stamp authority in T20 cricket

    Caravans stamp authority cricket
    Caravans cricket team

    Last updated: April 25, 2019.

    Caravans cricket team started this year’s GP Gymkhana Shield 2018 tournament on sound note winning their two Group C opening matches at the Dar es Salaam Gymkhana Club (DGC) over the weekend.

    The annual event that involve 20 teams from around the city saw Caravans beating Tanzania Women’s Senior team in the opening match before recorded another win over Raha Union.

    DGC who has organised the tournament under the auspices of the Tanzania Cricket Association (TCA) for the first time they decided to invite TCA Women’s team to compete with male cricketers, according to club’s cricket captain, Ashish Nagewadia.

    Caravans gave TCA Women bitter welcome after beat them by 9 wickets. TCA Women’s bat first to post 63 runs with 4 wickets loss in allotted l 20 overs, but Caravans beat the score after posting 64 runs with just a wicket loss in 9.3 overs to claim the victory.

    Also read:   Mobile clinic offers hope to Dodoma residents

    Other Group C match Caravan beat Raha Union by 5 runs as they bat first and hit 110 runs, losing 8 wickets and all 20 overs, but Raha Union managed only 105 for five wickets in all 20

    Other weekend match saw Lions defeat Lohana by 7 wickets as their opponents bat first to post 76 runs all out after 19 overs. The winners hit 80 runs in a return with a loss of three wickets in 13 overs.

    Surat Stars also recorded event first win by a 7-wicket win over Jaat Blasters in exciting match Group A match. Jaat Blasters opted to bat and returned impressive 105 runs with a loss of 10 wickets in 20 overs, but that was not enough to stop Surat Stars who came back strongly to post 106 runs with a loss of 3 wickets to seal the victory.

    Also read:   Access Bank Tanzania donates to Turiani School

    Nagewadia said the tournament has so far started well as are expected and will be played every weekend at the same ground. The participating teams and their groups are: Group A consist of Surat Stars, Jaat Blasters, Tarangini, Punjabi Kings and Vanza, group B has MCC, Ismaili, Patel Samaj, Jain Singh and SKLPSC B. Group C teams are Caravans, TCA Women, SKLPSC A, Karnataka Kings and Raha Union; group D teams are DCC, Kanbis, Dik Diks, Lions and Lohana.

    General Petroleum (GP) is the main sponsors while other co-sponsors are Cartridge World, ALAF Tanzania, SBC Tanzania, Mgen Tanzania, Sayona Drinks, AfroTurk, Gajjar Auto Works, JayKey Trading, Estim Construction and Nabaki Afrika.